Home >> About


We have been doing a lot of work behind the scenes this year! Find out more by attending the members meeting at our 2024 conference in Caparica, Portugal on Thursday, July 11th from 6-7pm. We hope to see you there!


Mission Statement

Values of the EAPL  

  • The pursuit of excellence in academia and professional practice
  • Inclusiveness and responsibility
  • A supportive culture and environment
  • Integrity in the application of science

EAPL Community Standards:

We ask all members and conference delegates to help us ensure that our environment is inclusive, safe, appropriate and constructive. To achieve this, we ask that:

  • Members and conference delegates cultivate an inviting, safe and appropriate space to constructively discuss and debate academic and professional topics;
  • Members and conference delegates respect their peers’ views and beliefs, and consider their impact on others when making contributions;
  • Members and conference delegates recognise the difference between criticising or passing comment on a particular government, organisation, community, person or belief and discriminating on the basis of race, religion, sex, gender, sexual orientation, disability or age.

When we all take responsibility for maintaining an inclusive, safe, appropriate and constructive environment, academic and professional debate is improved, and everyone benefits.


The EAPL has two Ombudspersons to report all cases of misconduct in terms of our Community Standards. Julia Shaw and Anica Prosnik are elected as our Ombudspersons and they will take up this responsibility as from now on. You can reach them by email: ombudsperson[at]eapl.eu.

Aims of the EAPL

The aims of the EAPL, in line with our values, of the EAPL are as follows:

    1. the development and promotion of research
    2. making improvements in legal procedures informed by empirical research in the field of psychology and law
    3. education and the advancement of knowledge in the field
    4. the development of practice in the field of psychology and law (e.g., legal psychology, criminological psychology, forensic psychology, the law and human behaviour, the collection of evidence and consideration of improvements in substantive law, legal procedures and practices taking account of psychological insights and research).

Our focus is on Europe but we promote communication and collaboration with individuals and centres across the world towards the achievement of these aims. We strive to reach these aims by the following means:

  • Organising an annual conference in a location in Europe
  • Promoting communication and cooperation among psychologists, criminologists, lawyers and other interested professional groups, and between researchers and practitioners
  • Publishing manuscripts describing research and good practice in the field
  • Promoting research projects and programmes
  • Facilitating education and post-graduate training
  • Developing and protecting ethical codes and criteria for high standards of professional competence and practice
  • Working with other academic, professional and governmental associations and institutions internationally
  • Making recommendations and giving advice to official agencies
  • Disseminating information and knowledge to the public
  • Promoting student involvement in the field of psychology and law

Executive Committee

The EAPL Executive Committee is made up of eleven long-serving members of the Association. It contains six elected members (the President, the President-elect, the Past President, the Secretary, the Treasurer/Membership Officer, and the Website/Publications Officer). The Executive Committee also consists of two co-opted members and three appointed members (from the conference organizing committees of the past, current and next conference). The President-elect becomes President during the next period of office.

Members of the current Executive Committee (2024)

Geert Vervaeke
Tilburg University

Past President
Julia Korkman
Åbo Akademi University, Finnland

Timothy Luke
University of Gothenburg (SWE)

Linda Geven
Universiteit Leiden, The Netherlands

Joanne Rechdan
Bournemouth University, United Kingdom
Role: Website/Publications

André Körner
Medical School Berlin, Germany
Treasurer/Membership (Interim for Website/Publications)

Past presidents of EAPL:

  • Geert Vervaeke (2021-2023)
  • Renate Volbert (2018-2021)
  • Ray Bull (2015-2018)
  • Pär Anders Granhag (2012-2015)
  • David Cooke (2009-2012)
  • Peter van Koppen (2006-2009)
  • Graham Davies (2003-2006)
  • Frans Willem Winkel (2000-2003)
  • David Farrington (1997-2000)
  • Friedrich Lösel (1992-1997)

Conference Organizer for 2024

Dr. Cristina Soeiro (Chair of the organizing committee of the conference in 2024 – Caparica, Portugal)

Student Section

The EAPL has a very active student section which has an independent board, including two full board members and an adjunct president.

EAPL Student Board:

  • Kate Miller, University of Chester, United Kingdom
  • Jana Otzipka, Psychologische Hochschule Berlin (PHB), Germany
  • Narcisa Prodan, Babeș-Bolyai University, Cluj-Napoca, Romania

For more information about our student section, please visit the EAPL-S site.

On this website, you will find information about our Association and information about our annual meetings. These meetings are very important in the life of EAPL, a chance for many of our members to get together and share their ideas and experience, research findings and plans with colleagues from all over Europe – and the world – who have very similar interests. This year and due to COVID-19, the conference has to be postponed. For recent news and details go to our “Conferences” tab.

We trust you will find this website informative. We hope too that you will enjoy being a member of EAPL and benefit from the knowledge and experience of a like-minded community of practitioners and academics. If you have any questions about the Association, please contact eapl@eapl.eu.